Author Topic: BBC radio's centenary programme  (Read 10437 times)

Helen

• Offline Offline
    • View Profile
BBC radio's centenary programme
« on: September 11, 2008, 07:34:03 PM »
Hello!
I'm a Brazilian student of English. I'm researching about Barrie because my college's final work will be about Peter and Wendy and I've found you here.
As I'm brazilian I don't know much about the BBC radio's centenary programme Peter Pan Takes Flight. Can you, please, explain something about it? I've found some videos on youtube and I've downloaded audio files from this website. However, I'm not sure if both are the same production.
Please, help me.
Thanks a lot  ;D

Hannah High

• Offline Offline
    • View Profile
Re: BBC radio's centenary programme
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2008, 11:45:06 PM »
Hi, Helen

Are you talking about the youtube clips that say narrated by Rupert Grint? Appears to be a 6 part documentary. This is not the same thing as the RADIO thing, though they both came out the same time and for the same thing. I only just realized the VIDEO clips existed because of you, but i only watch the first minute or two, so i don't if it's about Barrie or Peter or the various productions or what.... 

Peter and Wendy is an awesome experience, because you get to see the story at how the wild boy was in a certain moment in Barrie's life (he's was always changing)  not to mention all the narration can throw you into a whirlpool. Hope you have fun with your work on it at school. I had a similiar end of year project when I was 14 or so, and the teacher let me go out of class and do whatever I wanted with it. The escape from bullies and encouragment to have my head in the clouds got me into Barrie, and what a heartbreaking bliss and change of life it became.

For Barrie info, you should check out Andrew Birkin's book, JM Barrie and the Lost Boys (or the film version with Ian Holm).

All the best!
« Last Edit: September 12, 2008, 02:03:29 AM by Hannah High »

Hannah High