Author Topic: Inspired by Peter Pan  (Read 6766 times)

Forrest99

Inspired by Peter Pan
« on: January 01, 2011, 05:05:46 PM »
Dear All,

I am a newbie here. I decided to register because I like Barrie's Peter Pan very much. Nowadays I started to re-read the story, and actually, sometimes it inspires me to write poems. If you allow me, I would like to share one of my poems with you, because I would like to know what you think about it. I'm curious about your impressions, let they be good or bad, however, I hope that I won't offend anyone's taste. (And last but not at least, I'm sorry for my use of English, I'm not a native speaker...)

Thanks for your friendly comments and critique in advance, and sorry if it sounds dilettant or does not meet anybody's taste.

In vain we grew up, I say,
it is a weapon with two edges.
Now we know so well
about the barters and the prices.

We became so very smart,
can count up to 1 million and more,
but we can never, never again reach
that magic shore.

We censor our thoughts,
some things are better left untouched.
Everything's scattered,
and we have to rebuild the world. Day after day it falls apart.
And day after day, we lose the ground.
We already differ in our minds.
No steady island comes up.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2011, 09:49:04 PM by Forrest99 »

AlexanderDavid

Re: Inspired by Peter Pan
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2011, 07:47:48 PM »
Welcome to the forums!  :D  Enjoy your stay!

I love poetry myself, both reading and writing--and I think it's awesome that you took inspiration from Peter Pan!  :D  And no worries about English not being your first language--or that you would offend anyone, I don't see how anyone could take offense at what you've written.