Author Topic: Honors Thesis  (Read 7679 times)

Barriesaxxy

Honors Thesis
« on: January 16, 2011, 02:48:55 PM »
Hi! I'm an undergraduate at the University of New Mexico, majoring in English. I'm in my third year, and I'm looking for a topic for writing a departmental honors thesis next year. I'm really interested in studying Barrie/his works, but not sure what direction to take this broad idea. I was wondering if anyone might have some suggestions.
Thanks a lot

AlexanderDavid

Re: Honors Thesis
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2011, 04:50:29 PM »
Hi! I'm an undergraduate at the University of New Mexico, majoring in English. I'm in my third year, and I'm looking for a topic for writing a departmental honors thesis next year. I'm really interested in studying Barrie/his works, but not sure what direction to take this broad idea. I was wondering if anyone might have some suggestions.
Thanks a lot

Well, for starters, what interests you the most about Barrie and/or his works?

Barriesaxxy

« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 05:48:14 PM »
uh... everything :D

Seriously, I got interested in Barrie because I fell in love with Peter Pan, but I just finished reading The Little White Bird, and I'm about three pages into Sentimental Tommy. I found the introduction really interesting because he talks about how Tommy didn't want to grow up, and I wasn't expecting that theme to be running in his other books. (I also liked that he basically said that he had plans to take the book/the character one way, but Tommy ended up going somewhere else. That happens to me all the time.)

I've also looked into about every different interpretation of Peter Pan that I can get my hands on, and some crop up where you don't expect them to (for example, Juan Antonio Bayona's film The Orphanage.) I wonder if it says anything about our society that the versions/interpretations of this story seem to get steadily darker...

AlexanderDavid

« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 08:44:14 PM »